

# IN MEMORIAM

Allen Newell 1927-1992

Allen Newell, one of the founders of the fields of artificial intelligence and cognitive science, died on July 19, 1992 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He was among the founders of AAAI and served as the association's first president.

The winter issue of AI Magazine will be dedicated to Allen Newell in tribute to his extraordinary contributions to the artificial intelligence community and to the world.



### **AAAI Officials**

President
Patrick Hayes, Stanford University

President-elect
Barbara Grosz, Harvard University

Past President

Daniel G Bobrow, Xerox Palo Alto Research Center

Secretary-Treasurer
Bruce Buchanan, University of Pittsburgh

Councilors (through 1993)

Mark Fox, University of Toronto

Barbara Hayes-Roth, Stanford University Thomas Dietterich, Oregon State University

Richard Fikes, Stanford University

Councilors (through 1994) Jaime Carbonell, Carnegie Mellon University

Paul Cohen, University of Massachusetts

Elaine Kant, Schlumberger Candy Sidner, Digital Equipment Corporation

Councilors (through 1995) Johan de Kleer, Xerox PARC

Benjamin Kuipers, University of Texas at Austin

Paul Rosenbloom, USC-ISI

Beverly Woolf, University of Massachusetts

### Standing Committees

Conference Chair: William Swartout, USC-ISI Finance Chair: Bruce Buchanan, Univ of Pittsburgh Publications Chair: Mark Fox, University of Toronto Scholarship Chair: Katia Sycara, Carnegie Mellon University

Symposium Chair: Peter Patel-Schneider, AT&T Bell Laboratories

Symposium Cochair: James Hendler, Univ of Maryland Symposium Associate Chair: Paul Cohen, Univ of Mass Workshop Grants Chair: Candy Sidner, Digital Workshop Grants Cochair: Beverly Woolf, University of Massachusetts

AI in Medicine Subgroup Liaison: Serdar Uckun, Stanford University

AI in Manufacturing Subgroup Liaison: Karl Kempf, Intel AI and the Law Subgroup Liaison: Edwina Rissland, University of Massachusetts

AI and Business Subgroup Liaison: Dan O'Leary, University of Southern California

The AAAI Press Editor-in-Chief

Ken Ford, University of West Florida

General Manager David Mike Hamilton, The Live Oak Press

MIT Press Coliaisons Robert Prior, Teresa Ehling

Management Board

William Clancey, Institute for Research on Learning

Ken Ford, University of West Florida David Mike Hamilton, The Live Oak Press

Robert Prior, Teresa Ehling, The MIT Press

Reid Smith, Schlumberger

Editorial Board

Ken Forbus, Northwestern University

Tom Dietterich, Oregon State University Scott Fahlman, Carnegie Mellon University

Jean-Claude Latombe, Stanford University

John McDermott, Digital Equipment Corporation Judea Pearl, University of California, Los Angeles Reid Smith, Schlumberger

Yoav Shoham, Stanford University

Howard Shrobe, Symbolics J Martin Tenenbaum, EITech

Bonnie Webber, University of Pennsylvania

### The AAAI Staff

Executive Director: Carol McKenna Hamilton Accountant: Julia G Bowen

Membership and Systems Coordinator: Richard A

Conference Coordinator: Annette Eldredge Conference/Irade Show Coordinator: Mary Livingston Administrative: Hasina Aziz, Daphene Black, Sally McLaughlin, Arthur Okorie, and Goodwin Okorie

## AAAI Corporate Sponsors

Digital Equipment Corporation General Motors Research Laboratory